John Jordan Award
Share |


History of the Awards

In 1986, the National Flight Nurses Association* (NFNA) Board of Directors sought some means to recognize exceptional leaders in the profession of flight nursing.  Determining that leadership skills and journalistic communication were two important factors in advancing the profession, awards were developed to acknowledge outstanding capabilities in these areas.

The Katz-Mason and Jordan Awards were first presented to the persons they were named after at the 1986 NFNA Conference held in Washington, DC.  Marcia Katz and Jean Mason were the two persons most instrumental in the organization of NFNA and provided exceptional leadership for the Association during its earliest years. 

John Jordan developed the edited Flight Nurses News, the first newsletter type communication of NFNA.  Flight Nurse News evolved into the Journal of Aeromedical Healthcare, which later became the AeroMedical Journal.

John Jordan Award For Excellence in Transport Medicine Journalism

This award recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to transport medical journalism.  The recipient may be an active, inactive, or affiliate member of ASTNA.


Forward all nominations to the

ASTNA Nominations Committee
13918 E. Mississippi Avenue, Suite 215
Aurora, CO 80012

Award winners will be presented with their award in conjunction with the Air Medical Transport Conference (AMTC), conference registration, airfare and one night lodging will be provided as the award prize).


*Also known as the Air & Surface Transport Nurses Association (ASTNA)

Past Jordan Award Recipients


2019 Andrew Reimer
2018 Eric Bauer
2017 David Olvera
2016 Susan Thibeault
2015 Debbie Martin
2013 Jason Clark
2011 Jill Johnson
2010 Allen Wolfe
2009 Karen Chamberlain
2008 Carol Rhoades
2007 Steve Neher
2006 No one nominated
2005 Laura Criddle
2004 Sherri Dean
2003 Gerald Caldwell
2002 Michael Frakes
2001 Mary Gomez
2000 Scott DeBoer
1999 Angela Golden
1998 Patrick Parrish
1998 Alan Dobrowolski
1997 Judi Wilson
1996 Robert O'Malley
1995 Cheryl Erler
1994 William Rutherford
1993 Cheryl Thompson
1992 Nick Benson
1991 Carol Wichman
1990 Renee' Holleran
1989 Jane Wynn
1988 Genelle Lee
1987 Chris Zalar
1986 John Jordan

Member Photos


Air & Surface Transport Nurses Association
13918 E. Mississippi Avenue, Suite 215
Aurora, CO 80012
Ph: 303-344-0457
Fax: 800-937-9890